top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia Blue Arm

Entry No. 2, Aug. 29: #rethread

As this week progresses, our class discussions have become more in depth and we have tapped into some difficult topics, which have challenged the way we think of planning lessons for students.


During the first week of class, I imagined all of the information I was receiving as the threads of a rug being woven together. This week's discussions, readings, and lesson planning practices have made me rethink all of that information in more complex and concrete ways. For example, talking about social justice issues helped me think about all of the forces impacting the lives of students and how we as teachers can shape curriculum to address those feelings and issues.


As I was rethinking, I realized that my creation of a weaving was somewhat premature. I realized that I would like to focus more on the individual aspects that make up my learning process, which I related to the individual materials that make up a weaving. Before I decide to make a whole weaving, I would like to develop the warp and weft more elaborately.


I connected this idea of rethinking with the processes of taking something apart and putting it back together in new forms. This rethinking became the action of "rethreading" as I imagined myself taking apart my weaving and pondering further about what to do with my materials.


Below you can see how I took apart the paper strips of my weaving from last week. On the back of each strip I record words that have been floating around in my head from class.



Next, I decided to combine those strips into one longer strand to "rethread" my ideas. I rethreaded the paper strips by sewing them together end-to-end.


Below you can see one section of the sewn paper strand and a detail shot of my concepts:




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page