top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia Blue Arm

Entry No.3, Jan.28 #pattern


As I began getting more responsibility in the classroom this week, my position as a student teacher began to solidify from my position as a student. My role in the classroom as a teacher, rather than just an observer or helper began to become more clear to the students this week. Not only have I been adjusting more to the schedule and classroom routine, but I have also been more fluid in contributing to instruction.


As I reflect on this process, I have been thinking of it as a #pattern. Similar to when artist create patterns in artwork, the pattern becomes gradually clearer and reveals itself as the artist persists. This pattern also represents the shift between teaching and learning when you are a student teacher. While I’m in the classroom, I am continuously operating in a cycle of observing, learning, applying, and adjusting. Teaching and learning go hand-in-hand, as I repetitively question and check in with myself as I teach.


This transition has allowed me to make my presence as a teacher in the classroom stronger. I have been able to form my own style and bring my own energy by using my own management strategies and redirecting tools. Making my presence more evident has also helped me connect more with the students because they are beginning to respect my authority.


To represent this creation of a pattern in my teaching and learning process, I have used embroidery and beading techniques to create a pattern that represents a cycle. I have used the medicine wheel shape and colors to guide my pattern.





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page