top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia Blue Arm

Entry No. 4, Sep. 12: #collage

Updated: Sep 13, 2018

This week I am straying away from my #rethreading process as my form of weekly reflection. During Art Education Studio this week, we were introduced to the artwork of Sarah Bridgland, a multimedia artist who works with paper, wood, paint, pastel, graphite, and found objects to create 2- and 3-dimensional collages. Within these collages, she explores the combination of drawing and sculpture to reflect on visual memories and to express a form of narrative to the viewer. Initially I was really inspired by the playfulness and experimentation with different dimension. After observing and researching her work further, the expression of memory and narrative resonated deeply with me.


An example of Sarah Bridgland's work:

Untitled, 120 x 150 x 80mm, paper, card, glue, 2013 (commission for Work/Life 3, the UPPERCASE directory of illustration)

Source: Sarah Bridgland's website http://sarahbridgland.com/


I realized that this form of making could lend itself really well to reflecting on my weekly teaching memories to tell my own stories of my experience in the classroom. So, this week my making process was #collage, which I used to compile memories, thoughts, and concepts from my week of learning and teaching. You can see my #collage below:




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page