top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia Blue Arm

Art Journal 1: My Teaching Philosophy

The first day of ART 326 posed some meaningful and challenging questions about what it will take to be an art educator. The theme for this post is a question I have been pondering for several years as an Art Education student: What is my teaching philosophy? And, correspondingly, What is a metaphorical representation of that philosophy?


While considering what makes up my teaching philosophy, the elements which seemed most important to a strong classroom environment were about students giving full effort in a safe and inclusive community where students discover how to think like artists. This involves being present, having a welcoming and accepting community, and mutual respect.


My teaching philosophy is continuously developing as my education progresses and as I get more experience in K-12 classrooms. Below is a list of 10 important elements of my teaching philosophy:



When I imagine a metaphor that represents the elements of my philosophy, I imagine each as its own very important part that must be intertwined with the others to make a whole. I pictured the individual threads of a rug being woven together, with each thread representing one element of my philosophy.


Below is my simplified paper version of a woven rug:


My teaching philosophy is like a woven rug. Like a rug, many separate elements and materials must be carefully and methodically woven together. When finished, a rug is a strong, interconnected creation.





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page